Sophia Bennett – Love Song

A million girls would kill for the chance to meet The Point, but Nina’s not one of them. She’s the new assistant to the lead singer’s diva fiancée, and she knows it’s going to suck. She quickly learns that being with the hottest band on the planet isn’t as easy as it looks: behind the scenes, the boys are on the verge of splitting up. Tasked with keeping an eye on four gorgeous but spoiled rock stars, Nina’s determined to stick it out – and not fall for any of them…

RATING

This one was recommended to me by Goodreads way back when it came out. This is the first book I read from the author and after finishing it I’m here wondering why I didn’t read it earlier. I loved it so much there is only on little flaw to it. Not even flaw I would rather say one little thing that could have improved the story for me but otherwise it’s kind of perfect as it is.

The author has a really amazing and easy to read writing style. The help of this she created a fantastic love story which just simply swept me off my feet and took me through an emotional roller coaster. Honestly there are so many emotions surfacing in this book and thanks to the talent of the author a could feel; experience all of them while I followed Nina exhilarating adventure. At first I was a bit afraid that I won’t like it much because based on the blurb this story is more into the YA category and with this genre I don’t have much luck lately. But here comes the little thing I mentioned earlier. The whole story is written in a way that for me it feels more like a NA book also I felt it would have been more believable with slightly older characters. But really beside the fact that their age is plainly stated in the story the characters don’t show any other indication of this age. They act more mature.
The plot practically can be separated into to part. In the beginning it’s about Nina being the lackey of the’ pampered princess’ and meanwhile she gets to know the members of the band thereby the author introduces them to us too and she creates the problem that propellers the story forward later. In the second part of the book we get to know a different side of the characters, the band members. Here is where the real and amazing dynamism between them starts to show and also the subtle romantic element also surfaces and comes true.

This book is full of incredible and colorful characters. Nina the main characters is really delightful, she is a fresh breath after the numerous immature and naïve teenage girl characters from other books. She is a down to earth, realistic, hard working and kind girl. Her drastic view of love and boys felt a bit absurd and over the top for me but that’s what made her susceptible of the boy’s charm. She is someone that every girl can easily relate to. She is sensible and inspiring.
Among the band every one of them got a distinct and established personality but the ones that really got me are Jamie and Angus. Angus the tortured soul, who misses his best friend and starting to despise him. He is just someone who wants to be understood and he kind of finds it in Nina. Their bond forms out of an absurd situation but they became best buds real quick. And then there is Jamie, who really kind of a mystery during the book and his real reasoning and personality just comes to light at the end of the book. Some of his dictions, actions I couldn’t completely understand I just didn’t saw his reasoning behind it. But I still liked him even when I didn’t know much about him. He just has a likeable presence.

Love Song is a phenomenal book. The plot is well balanced and interesting. I especially liked how the slow burning romance developed in it. It was just what the story needed. The book is full of music, friendship; it has an awesome cast and a really entertaining storyline.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

2 thoughts on “Sophia Bennett – Love Song”

You Leave a Comment

