Amanda Bouchet – A Promise of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles #1)

Catalia “Cat” Fisa is a powerful clairvoyant known as the Kingmaker. This smart-mouthed soothsayer has no interest in her powers and would much rather fly under the radar, far from the clutches of her homicidal mother. But when an ambitious warlord captures her, she may not have a choice… Griffin is intent on bringing peace to his newly conquered realm in the magic-deprived south. When he discovers Cat is the Kingmaker, he abducts her. But Cat will do everything in her power to avoid her dangerous destiny and battle her captor at every turn. Although up for the battle, Griffin would prefer for Cat to help his people willingly, and he’s ready to do whatever it takes to coax her…even if that means falling in love with her.
add to goodreads

RATING

I received a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review.

When this book came out I was in a reading slump but the book synopsis somewhat enticed my curiosity. But I thought I should read at least a couple of book review just to be sure. Well, the one I read quickly doused my need to read the book so I shelved it without another thought. Now I can tell you what a mistake I made by not listening to my first instinct because this book is such a phenomenal adventure.

The story takes place in an interesting and magical world created by the author but she waved most of the known Greek mythological elements into it. The gods, the creatures all surfaces here and there but in a more physically present way rather than just in the mythologies. People meet and converse with them. I liked this world very much with all of it part, the hierarchy, the beliefs, the customs, the people and everything in between even if there is no overly detailed introduction of them in the book but I had to put together the piece from little hints from several chapters. The author didn’t use the most original ideas but all of it is so well balanced and put together that it just works. I think she choose her setting well it’s the perfect background to the plot.
The writing style is smooth but I discovered some phrases and descriptions that are used repeatedly and not necessarily in the best ways. For example everybody hair is radiantly glowing in the sun and she (Cat) can’t look at them straight. I think this sound ridiculous once not to mention at least five different times in the expanse of a couple of chapters. And there are some other similar examples but this is probably the only thing I can bring up against the writing, the slight lack of variety.

The main character is my favorite thing about this book. Cat, Catalia or Talia depends on who she is talking to is some kind of frenetically fantastic character. During reading I probably jotted down at least twenty different adjective to describe her. She is one colorful person. She is bold, hot tempered, sarcastic, ballsy, rash and cynical and has quit the attitude. She is demanding at times and can act really childish if she doesn’t get her way. Also she is strong and has tremendous powers but she doesn’t act like somebody that is invincible or unerring. Oh she is arrogant about her accomplishments but goes into battle knowing her limits. She has a lot of secrets and tries to keep her distance from everybody but it’s the result of her brutal childhood.

“What’s wrong with me? I must be coming down with something, like empathy. Gah!”

However when she encounters Griffin and his merry band of warriors whom are the most unfeasible people she ever met she gets her job cut out for her. They are a really well working and loyal group. They quickly adopt her into the team and their dynamics and banter is an amazing part of the story. That’s the same with Griffin family but most of them not as deeply developed character as Cat or Griffin.
Griffin is probably the exact opposite of Cat. They are like fire and oil. He is determined, efficient, noble, calm, and capable and has a really strong view of what he wants to accomplish and what is right or wrong. However he is a bit naïve to, regarding politics. He is more of a warrior and strategist than a politician. Also around the end of the story his noble goals start to go into a different territory and it’s started to feel as if the power starts to change him.

The relationship between these two characters is a rocky and infuriating road. They fight constantly but it’s quickly became obvious that they are made for each other. They come from different worlds so it’s hard for them to understand some of the others actions, reasoning. Cat represents the current political situation; she knows how it works and what somebody needs to survive it. On the other hand Griffin represents change and maybe he has the right idea but here comes his naivety. He simply doest see, can’t understand that this change won’t come easy. They start to change, balance each other out. Their attraction and the chemistry are really good but Cat is so innocent in the department of intimacy that it’s a herculean job for Griffin to break down the walls around her. I found it really cute how Cat didn’t see what going on between them. I mean she describes her arousal as some strange zipping fiery sensation in her lower stomach. I think this perfectly represents her inexperience.

Overall this is a marvelous story. Not the most eventful or action packed. There is no constant excitement more like a couple of spur of action. It’s not the story that keeps you at the edge of your seat and honestly there is not a big main event or goal in the plot yet. I would rather call this as a prequel or introduction. This book is about Cat way to healing but there are going to be a lot of action in the future. How do I know that? Well there a lot of little clues and unresolved issues left in the book. There are the mysteries why are several gods helping Cat, and there are her mysteriously manifesting new power of hers what she doesn’t know anything about or there are the mention of a prophecy. Not to mention Cat has plenty of secrets the others have to uncover or the already simmering unrest between the counties. So yeah I have great expectations of the next book.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

