Penelope Douglas – Misconduct

Former tennis player Easton Bradbury is trying to be the best teacher she can be, trying to reach her bored students and trying to forget her past. What brought her to this stage in her life isn’t important. She can’t let it be. But now one parent-teacher meeting may be her undoing… Meeting Tyler Marek for the first time makes it easy for Easton to see why his son is having trouble in school. The man knows how to manage businesses and wealth, not a teenage boy. Or a young teacher, for that matter, though he tries to. And yet… there is something about him that draws Easton in—a hint of vulnerability, a flash of attraction, a spark that might burn. Wanting him is taboo. Needing him is undeniable. And his long-awaited touch will weaken Easton’s resolve—and reveal what should stay hidden…

RATING

I like Penelope Douglas writing style a lot and after reading the synopsis I threw myself into this story, too. I thought it has everything I need. Unfortunately it didn’t fro out for me at the end.

Easton is fresh out of college and about to start her new career. Her past left her with a couple of scars and a realistic view of the world. She was forced to grew up fast so she is not the usual bubbly, naïve 20 something girl. She is more mature, focused and driven. She is good at what she does and good with children. However under her strong and independent persona she is also vulnerable and afraid. She is unable to move on which is one of the things that hinders her relationship with Tyler. Although she is more open for the possibility than Tyler and her character develops a lot during the story.

Tyler on the other hand is an accomplished, successful business man with political goals. All his life he put everything behind his career. He is a really private, confident a commanding character but lately a lot more conflicted. He is starting to realize that his work is not everything and maybe not the most important thing for him. He wants to rebuild his relationship with his son but doesn’t know how. So it doesn’t help when Easton drops into his life and divides his attention more. I really hated how slowly he made his decisions and how those played out. He knew where he made the mistakes regarding his relationships he still made them. He is simply unwilling to give up something to gain something possible more important. He wants everything at the same time. I think he was greedy in a not monetary way, but others. Nothing is enough for him.

So yeah I didn’t like Tyler, also there is a 12 year age difference between him and Easton and that is one of my pet peeves in the not liking department. Plus the story is really really slow. Sure there is fantastic chemistry between the characters, paired with steamy sex and a couple of cute scenes but the plot is unbalanced by Tyler constant inner struggle. And nothing exciting happens in the book. There is one little possibility but that one unravels quickly and in an anticlimactic fashion. I was a bit disappointed. The whole storyline felt muted, a bit one-dimensional for me.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

