Robin LaFevers – Dark Triumph (His Fair Assassin #2)

I lean forward, pushing my body out past the battlements. The wind plucks at my cloak, buffets against me, as if it would carry me off in flight, just like the birds or the knight’s soul. Let go, it cries, I will take you far, far away. I want to laugh at the exhilarating feeling, I will catch you, it whistles seductively. The convent has returned Sybella to a life that nearly drove her mad. Her father’s rage and brutality are terrifying, and her brother’s love is equally monstrous. When she discovers an unexpected ally imprisoned in the dungeons, will a a daughter of Death find something other than vengeance to live for?

RATING

I honestly never expected to love this book as much as I did. Especially since I really didn’t like Sybella based on her short appearance in the first book.

First I was a bit disappointed because the main character is not Ismae anymore and one pf my strange quirks is that once I fell in love with a character it’s hard to read about one entirely different one from the same world. However after getting over this and starting the book I became hooked just after few pages. It’s truly magnificent story and refuted all of my prejudice.

This book is so amazing. I loved Sybella with her past struggles, hardship and development. Getting to know her made me like her more and more. This concentrates more on the personal demons of the characters rather than the royal court machinations and secrets as it did in Grave Mercy. And don’t forget about the colorful romantic element to it either. I simply loved the pairing in this book. Both of them is so independent and strong headed that they constantly clash and argue. Neither of them wants to give even an inch to the other. Both of them aim to ‘lead’. The main obstacle in the way of their relationship is Sybella herself. She is hardened by her past and various tragedies so her walls are high and impenetrable.
I adore the male part of the couple, too. Him being alive is one of the biggest surprises in the story. He is strong and protective, has a rough look but a huge and kind heart too. The perfect person to balance out Sybella.

This book is not so focused on the political side of things but it’s still present in the plot and also has an important role. In Sybella childhood home the politics works in an entirely different more unexpected way than in the royal court. I was constantly wondering what’s going to happen next. So in honesty this solution gives the story suspense, more of a mystery feeling.
This book has a darker, harsher and a more brutal undertone, background. There is a few shocking chapter and the whole storyline is chilling.
We also see a lot more about the connection between the girls and Death, gain more understanding of how this connection works, and affect the girls. In my opinion the convent is fishy and digging a deeper and deeper hole for themselves regarding their assassins.

This book is more bloody and graphic. There is a lot of killing and gruesome death in the story. Nothing is concealed in the description of these scenes. Also the characters are not remotely as cheerful or even carefree as its usual in YA books.

I got through it really quickly without even realizing it. But this doesn’t mean it would be an easy or light read. It’s a beautifully created, eventful story. I loved it from the first page. An enjoyable historical book from a talented author.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

