4.5 stars

Rick Riordan – The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus #1)

Jason has a problem. He doesn’t remember anything before waking up in a bus full of kids on a field trip. Apparently he has a girlfriend named Piper, and a best friend named Leo. They’re all students at a boarding school for “bad kids.” What did Jason do to end up here? And where is here, exactly? Piper has a secret. Her father has been missing for three days, ever since she had that terrifying nightmare about his being in trouble. Piper doesn’t understand her dream, or why her boyfriend suddenly doesn’t recognize her. When a freak storm hits during the school trip, unleashing strange creatures and whisking her, Jason, and Leo away to someplace called Camp Half-Blood, she has a feeling she’s going to find out. Leo has a way with tools. When he sees his cabin at Camp Half-Blood, filled with power tools and machine parts, he feels right at home. But there’s weird stuff, too—like the curse everyone keeps talking about, and some camper who;s gone missing. Weirdest of all, his bunkmates insist that each of them—including Leo—is related to a god. Does this have anything to do with Jason’s amnesia, or the fact that Leo keeps seeing ghosts?

RATING

In my opinion Rick Riordan is one of the most talented story teller and one of my favorites too. He takes a couple of mythological element, incorporates it into the modern world and creates an amazing story. His books are enjoyable for everybody no matter the age or sex. His Percy Jackson and the Olympians series is a phenomenal saga. This series is really closely related to that so I definitely recommend to read that first. Heroes of Olympus is kind of a sequel to that one with a new side to the story and a couple of new characters. However we also can meet with the old and beloved demigods, too.

It turns out that the world of the demigods is more complex and multilayered than we thought. There are secrets, surprises and revelations at every turn and corner. We learn of another camp but this one is for the roman gods. Thanks to this different side there is a lot of new information and mythological part to learn of.
I really liked that we get to know about the less mainstream gods’ children, too. They really didn’t play that much of a part in the first book even so they are quite interesting. Camp Half-blood is definitely expanding.

I missed Percy, because he is my favorite character but the new ones are also awesome and likeable. Their appearance made the life of the campers a bit more exciting.
Our new heroes are in a hard situation, they have to face a load of danger and adventure. Their journey starts with a blast. My favorite one is Leo, his personality is the most deeply developed of them all. He is also really funny, supportive and he is a misunderstood crazy genius. I liked Piper, too but her personality is not the best, she is quite insecure and dependable. he is not the conventional hero material, at least not yet. Jason is the most closed off among them. We barley get to know anything about him, probably because of his memory loss. Or the author just played well into it. However he gets the main focus and he is the team leader. I felt like Mr. Riordan is trying to replace Percy and I didn’t like that. But in reality it’s a stupid motion on my part because Percy and Jason are polar opposites.

Overall, this is another fascinating and somewhat educational story from a well refined author. It’s full of action, adventure, interesting information and humor. I’m satisfied with his way of continuing Percy storyline even if it with a twist and a lot of new elements.

3 thoughts on “Rick Riordan – The Lost Hero (The Heroes of Olympus #1)”

  1. I read all of the Heroes Of Olympus books and loved them like literally every single Rick Riordan book that exists and your review is really good and probably super helpful for everyone who hasn´t read the books yet. I just think that Rick Riordan did not try to replace Percy with Jason because the seven heroes are all equally important to the story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, after reading the whole series I agree with you but I wrote this review back when I first read the book, when it came out. Back then the second book didn’t have a blurb yet and I didn’t know if Percy’s going to reappear or not in it.( he was my fav character so I missed him from the book). Also Jason had the same kind of leiding role in the group as Percy in the previous series so thts why I I felt like it when I wrote the original post.

      Like

      1. I think I thought the same after I read the first book so I understand what you mean. And I was really sad that Percy wasn´t in the first book. Oh and Leo was also one of my favourite characters. 🙂

        Like

You Leave a Comment

