2 stars

J. Daniels – Four Letter Word (Dirty Deeds #1)

Fate. Hate. Love. Lies. Which four letter word will change their lives forever? In an effort to avoid dealing with the shocking end of her marriage, Sydney Paige high-tails it to Dogwood Beach, North Carolina to vent her anger onto the man who broke her best friend’s heart. But when she unknowingly dials the wrong number, Syd’s newly single world is turned upside down by a stranger who wants to keep her on the line. Brian Savage is living a life he’s quickly come to hate – until Sydney and her innocently wild voice. But Brian has secrets, ones that could destroy everything between them. And when the woman on the phone becomes the lover in his bed, shielding her from the mistakes of his past becomes harder and harder…
add to goodreads

RATING

Despite the fact that I own several books from the author this is the first one I actually read. Unfortunately, I didn’t like it as much as I hoped.

I had numerous problems with this book but the first and most impacting was that it’s boring. It’s slow, dull and the storyline id so dragged out. I suffered through the whole 400+ pages of it. Usually it takes me 1 or 2 days to read a 500 pages book depending on the amount of free time I have. This book took me 4 days and not because I didn’t have time. I dragged my feet. I even considered not finishing it a couple of time what I don’t do.

Sydney’s character is interesting. She completely reinvents herself during the story, this I absolutely loved about her. However she is so blind to other’s fault that it’s hurt. She is kind and supporting toward the ones she cares about. She is also understanding especially regarding Brian. But after all her forgiving and supporting ways at the end of the book she completely contradicts herself with her actions.
Brian’s stupidly hasty decisions just pissed me off. I could understand his need to help the family but he does it in the stupidest way possible without considering the consequences. But otherwise his character falls into a neutral zone for me.

The plot is really predictable whatsoever. For me predictable and dragged out equals boring. Also, I just couldn’t feel any chemistry or real attraction between Brian and Sydney so their romance was unbelievable.
I didn’t like the supporting characters either. Tori and Jamie little interactions and battles just irritated me. What else? Oh yeah, there are a couple of scenes in the story that I think the author intended to be funny but wasn’t at all. (For example the drunkenly beating up the car thingy? Not funny at all more like juvenile.)

Overall this book just wasn’t for me. I didn’t like the story or the characters or even the writing style. After this book I’m not so enthusiastic to read anything else from the author. So I think I’m gonna wait with the other ones and try the later.

You Leave a Comment

