3 stars

Nicole Williams – Touching Down

The whole world might be in love with him. But all he’s ever loved is her. Grant Turner’s name is synonymous with football. The fans and media can’t get enough of the player known as The Invincible Man, a nickname he earned while growing up in one of the toughest neighborhoods in the country and the nickname he’s kept by being one of the best players in professional football today. No one can take him down. He’s unstoppable. But even a suit of armor has its weak point, and Grant’s has always been Ryan Hale. They were a couple of kids when they fell in love, and just when it looked like the happy ending neither expected was within reach, Ryan disappeared. No explanations. No good-byes. Grant coped by throwing himself into the game for seven years, and he’s finally moved on. Or so he thinks. When she walks back into his life, all of those feelings come crashing back, despite the warnings in his head that tell him she’ll leave him again. Grant can withstand the league’s toughest defensive line, but he’s always been weak where she’s concerned. No man can take Grant Turner down. But one woman certainly can. One woman will.

RATING

I really liked the author previous works and not so long ago I read her Stealing Home novel, which gave me the inceptive to read this one to. I also love sport romances so this one was for me. Or so I thought. I was so excited to get my hands on this one but unfortunately this story disappointed me quite a bit.

This is a second chance romance with a shocking twist. Lately I didn’t have to much luck with second chance romances because I don’t like the way they are written with the retrospections. In this story there is no look backs but it this time I could have used it. Without it the once in a lifetime romance between Ryan and Grant is not well established. Thanks to this their overly emotional responses and the chemistry between them isn’t so tangible, believable.
The storyline is quite predicable and not so original but could have been better without the depressing, doomed feeling what accompanies the whole story. Seriously a couple of time I only continued reading because I was hoping that by some kind of miracle they found a cure, solution for the problem. Or that there is some kind of misunderstanding. This story really made me sad.

For me there are a couple of other problems with this plot. For example in the beginning there is this suspense, this secret and the revelation of it is forcibly dragged out. Especially since there are a couple of hints about it so I could easily figure it out. Ant there is the fact that not much happening in the whole book. I mean they just circling and repeating the same arguments and situations over and over again. So yeah let’s just say I didn’t like this plot at all.

Ryan made a lot of hard decisions in her short lifetime and maybe some of them were stupid. But then it seems like the best. I liked how she accepted the situation and tried to make the best of it. However her keeping the secret for seven years and really only confessing because of her desperate situation? That’s not her best choice. She went through a lot in her life but she is still standing. She is really resilient but in the book she starts to take on a pessimist view.
Grant is the epitome of optimism and stubbornness. He is not willing to give up something he really wants. And maybe sometimes it’s worth a shot but in this case after a while his single-minded determination started to irritate me. The way he forgave for Ryan also not the most convincing scene.

I found the conclusion, the ending of the book a bit over the top and simply unbelievable and also the storyline itself is quite dull. There is really nothing exciting in it. Luckily the author writing style is still exceptionally smooth and easy to read so it helped a lot with the book.

For me it’s a minus in Nicole Williams corner but not something big enough to give upon the author. Especially after her other fantastic books.

You Leave a Comment

