Brandon Mull – Wild Born (Spirit Animals #1)

Four children separated by vast distances all undergo the same ritual, watched by cloaked strangers. Four flashes of light erupt, and from them emerge the unmistakable shapes of incredible beasts – a wolf, a leopard, a panda, a falcon. Suddenly the paths of these children – and the world – have been changed for ever. Enter the world of Erdas, where every child who comes of age must discover if they have a spirit animal, a rare bond between human and beast that bestows great powers to both. A dark force has risen from distant and long-forgotten lands, and has begun an onslaught that will ravage the world. Now the fate of Erdas has fallen on the shoulders of four young strangers … and on you.
add to goodreads

RATING

Ok, I admit maybe I’m a bit old for MG books, but what can I say I’m a little girl at heart. No not really, but there are a couple of great middle grade story that can be fantastic and enjoyable.

The concept ofthe story was the first thing that got my attention. Just think about it, how cool a spirit animal could be. I’m sure would want one. Oh and there is the beautiful and colorful cover, too. This two thing sold the book for me.

I liked it, it was ok but not perfect. My main problem was that the young (11 years old) characters acted too mature for their age. This wasn’t exactly surprise since adults write the story, but most of the time in middle grade books there is something that balances out the heroes overly adult like personality. In Wild born I couldn’t find it. Don’t get me wrong there are a couple of interesting character in the book but with their actions and the space of the book it felt a bit dull for me.

Let see the characters one by one: First there was Connor, who a bit more shy than the other but I think he was the most honest one too. And maybe his approach was the most child-like still more serious tha one would expect from a little boy, but pure. They made a spectacular duo with his wolf. Then there was Rollan. I loved him, he was really funny and a breath of fresh air between the bunch of serious people, and ok maybe a little bit of a coward too. In my opinion his reaction was the most realistic. Meilin simply pissed me off. Usually she would have been my fav character with her bad ass fighting technique and bit of a cold demeanor, but she came off as a selfish and snob bitch ( pardom my language). And her reaction to her spirit animal was really mean. So I didn’t like her. Abeke was simply naive. She had a lot of potencial and talent, but since she was an underdog in the family, could never be good enough for her father the first bit of attention blinded her.

All in all, I liked the oiginal idea and there was a lot of different personality it just missed a little bit more action. Oh and for me it still strange to relate to something where a bunch of adult people expect from a couple of kids to save the world.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

