A.J. Downey – Brother to Brother (The Sacred Brotherhood #1)

Melody Beswick thought she was bringing herself and her thirteen month old son home to his father. It was her last ditch effort to make a better life for her and her boy. One in which Noah had a father to look up to and guide him. While she knew Grinder wasn’t perfect, she believed in him, and love always found a way, right? She never thought her dreams for herself and her son could twist into such nightmares, and that it was so true, the old adage, that the road to hell is paved with good intentions. She’s about to find out that another adage is true, that sometimes it’s better the devil you know, when instead of finding Grinder, it’s his cold and critical brother Archer at the end of her long drive that she must contend with. With no other options, and no place else to go Melody is about to make a deal with this devil that she can’t refuse. Who knew it could, quite possibly, be the best decision she’s ever made?
add to goodreads

RATING

I read a couple of books from A.J. Downey before and I liked them but I honestly didn’t expect to like this one as much as I did.

The story starts with Melody already being in a sticky situation and I think it tells a lot about her previous relationship with Grinder that she only goes to him when she is already so desperately needs some help, there is no other way. Melody is a selfless and dedicated person. She went through a lot of things, still rather than whining and having a pity party she gives her all for caring for her son and later for Archer, too. Her self-esteem is under the bottom of the deepest ocean and she constantly feels guilty because she thinks of herself as a burden to everybody around her. However she wholeheartedly loves her son and he is her first priority no matter how much she is hurting in the mean time. She is truly a wonderful mother but Archer had his work cut out of him to coax her out of her shell.

Archer is a jerk to Melody at the beginning because he can’t imagine the things about his brother that Melody says, represents. Also he always loved her from afar so it’s a tricky situation for if in numerous ways. However after getting over their rough patch and starting to open up for each other more he changes. After that he does a lot of kind, considerate and attentive things for Melody and her son to make up for his initial a**holeness. I really adored how their relationship developed and evolved even if he had to fight for it tooth and nail since Melody kind of closed off. At the end they created a beautiful family.

This story is beautiful, emotional and kind of a second chance romance. There is a lot of surprising event in it and quite a few interesting characters. Especially Archer other brothers, but we also meet with the other characters from The sacred heart MC series. This one is definitely worth reading.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

