J.J. McAvoy – That Thing Between Eli & Gwen

Eli Davenport thinks he’s found the perfect woman to be his wife. She’s a doctor, like he is. She’s brilliant, like he is. And she’s wealthy, like he is. Guinevere ‘Gwen’ Poe thinks her fiancé is the perfect man. He’s handsome, successful and he was her first… But when Eli’s bride runs off with Gwen’s fiancée on his wedding day, they are left to pick up the broken pieces of each other…
add to goodreads

RATING

I really like J.J. McAvoy’s books. She is one of the authors I read everything from. This book of hers is another fantastic read however more light than the others. Oh, it still has plenty of shocking twist but it is not so heavy with drama or darker topics.

The books start off with a huge twist that also became the common turning point in both Eli and Gwen’s life. From then on their lives kind of weave together.
Eli is more of a practical mind still the heartbreak impacts him a little harder. He always was a workaholic but after the ‘event’ he became more driven and throws himself into work and mindless sex. His whole personality hardens and he gives up on love altogether. When he meets with Gwen again he directs his hurt and anger toward the girl. So their relationship starts out as enemies.

Gwen is also suffering from heartbreak but she gets herself together and keeps on living as she did before. She knows who she is and what she believes in. She is free spirited, strong and independent. Really talented and kind. However Eli brings out the worst in her. First they fought each other but their chemistry helped out to find common ground and from then it was kind of a domino effect. They balanced each other and kind of prove the opposites attract theory.

This is a really well written, funny and entertaining story. A sweet and romantic love story without extra drama. An easy and fresh read. The author has a way with creating relatable but unique characters. The ending was amazing and the epilogue perfectly satisfied my curiosity.

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

