Viki’s Review: Play by Kylie Scott

Series: Stage Dive #2
Published: March 25th 2014 by St. Martin’s Griffin
Synopsis: Mal Ericson, drummer for the world famous rock band Stage Dive, needs to clean up his image fast—at least for a little while. Having a good girl on his arm should do the job just fine. Mal doesn’t plan on this temporary fix becoming permanent, but he didn’t count on finding the one right girl. Anne Rollins never thought she’d ever meet the rock god who plastered her teenage bedroom walls—especially not under these circumstances. Anne has money problems. Big ones. But being paid to play the pretend girlfriend to a wild life-of-the-party drummer couldn’t end well. No matter how hot he is. Or could it?

※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※

The first book int he series is one of my all time favorites, with Mal being the hero in this story there was no question wether to read Play or not. And I loved this one even more than Lick. The author did an excellent job again. I was charmed from the first page.

I didn’t think that I would be able to love Mal even more but I been proven otherwise. Mal is not perfect, he has flaws just like everybody else on earth, but he has a kind of clean, innocence charm that makes him irresistible. And the things that came out of his mouth?? It’s unbelievable, he is crazy funny. I laughed a lot during reading. The words just flow out of him and he able to make endless monologues, I don’t even think he knows what he is talking about after a while. However he has demons and uses his personality and alcohol to mask them. Unfortunately, this isn’t a recipe for success, it only causes more problem for him int he process. It’s not surprising that Anne doesn’t know when to taje him seriously.

Anne is the new girl and the unknown in the equation. She is in her lowest when introduced, she is quite unlucky in her life but all of this changes after meeting Mal. In an unconventional way but their lives interweave. They make a good couple, their interactions are funny and it is clear from the beginning that most of the time Anne is absolutely confused. Mal said that he only wants to be friends but constantly toed the line. Thanks to that Anne self preservation kicked in. I didn’t like how she tried to force her relationship with Reese. She has a bad taste in men and lets others to walk all over her. Related to this I think there was a lot of extra potential in the story.

I enjoyed reading the book and loved the writing, in this strory there is more attention on the character development and the deep conversations. It’s an interesting plot but I think it’s a bit anti-klimatic.

RATING

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

