Viki’s Review: Hidden Blade by Pippa DaCosta

Series: Soul Eater #1
Published: July 7th 2016 by Pippa DaCosta
Synopsis: Kicked out of the underworld and cursed to walk this earth for all eternity, Ace Dante finds solace in helping others avoid the wrath of the gods. But when warrior-bitch, Queen of Cats, and Ace’s ex-wife, Bastet, hires him to stop whoever is slaughtering her blessed women, Ace is caught between two of the most powerful deities to have ever existed: Isis and Osiris. The once-revered gods aren’t dead. They’re back. And Ace is in their way. Welcome to a New York where the ancient gods roam.

※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※ ※

I have a couple of books from the author but somehow this is the first one I actually read. After reading it’s time to redeem that.

Hidden blade is a magical and surprisingly heartbreaking story taking place in New York with a twist. The author created a well balanced world where she incorporated the Egyptian mythology some elements into the modern world with outstanding talent. I really liked the way she described the Egyptian gods living in the normal world between ordinary humans. One of the strongest, more believable solutions I read so far.

The main character, Ace, is a soul eater. His sarcastic personality shines through from the first sentence of the book and he won me over with it from the start. He gives of the aura of someone who is tired of people’s stupidity and can’t believe he has to deal with them day to day. I loved his personality. He is seemingly an aloof guy but his exterior hides a deep addiction which he has to constantly fight and he his loneliness. He is kind of in a hopeless situation with a particular god and this makes a deep influence on his behavior.

I adored the story it’s on the shorter side and flows seamlessly but there are a couple of things. First it’s being in a guy point of view. For me it is harder to relate to something told in a man point of view, from his side. Also I think Ace noticed details that an arrogant man wouldn’t. Then there is the fact that the storyline in places it gets jumbled and looses focus of the important things. The plot takes a bit too many different directions. The few repetitive sentences and situations are just minor inconveniences.

At the end it takes a surprising, really-really not expected turn which ended up breaking my heart for Ace. Also there is a mention of a particular prophecy that has an important part in the book but I have an inkling suspicion that the characters misinterpreted it. I think it will cause a lot of mayhem in future books. I can’t wait.

RATING

Author: Viki

I’m 23 years old and currently I’m studying civil engineering. In my spare time (which I have quite a lot) I’m ususally reading or watching my favourite TV shows, but I like drawing too. I read almost anything but my favourit genres are New Adult and Paranormal Romance. I quite like werewolfs stories, they are my sweethearts. I couldn’t choose a favourite book, but I really like Ilona Andrews, Bec Botefurh and Chantal Fernando’s books. But I read a lot so I have to many favoured books that it’s just impossible to choose from.

You Leave a Comment

